CTRI Contest Group Champions 2010 – 2011
CTRI Contest Group Champions 2010 – 2011 avatar

Champions' Plaques

1. Objective: The 21 major contests of the year feature a club competition. To maximize the CTRI standing amongst other clubs, the CTRI club member(s) who contributes the most points in the 2010 – 2011 contest-year to the club’s credit is the CTRI Contest Group Champion. A champion will be recognized in the High Power, Low Power, and QRP categories in accordance with the specific rules which follow. An additional category, The Tenderfoot Award, initiated this year recognizes special effort as outlined below. Authorization for the continuation of this program from its initial 2009 – 2010 year was by club vote at its Sep 18, 2010 meeting.

2. Scoring:

A] An individual’s submitted score will be used for “keeping score.” If at the end of the contest year there is a very close race for determining champion, then the official published scores will be used.

B] The score must be submitted to the sponsor for CTRI credit. Repeat: You must submit your score for CTRI credit in this competition.

C] To be eligible for a champion award, at least 5 of the contests (see list) must have a submitted entry (Tenderfoot exempted).

D] If a club member submits scores in different categories (HP, LP, QRP), his category for champion will be the highest power used unless at least 5 are in a single lower power category.

E] A member participating in a multi-operator effort gets individual credit as follows: total score divided by number of operators.

F] After each contest, a member gets credit by either posting his score on the CTRI Yahoo reflector (or equivalent on the new website) or submitting the score to:

ctriscores [AT] cox [DOT] net.

A running tally sheet (or leaderboard) will be posted on the reflector periodically so that members can see individual progress and standings.

3. Contest season: The yearly contest season runs from September 1, 2010 through August 31, 2011. The following contests which have a club competition component count for champion credit:

Sep: ARRL September VHF QSO Party

CQ WW RTTY Contest

Oct: CQ WW SSB DX Contest

Nov: ARRL November Sweepstakes CW

ARRL November Sweepstakes Phone

CQ WW DX CW Contest

Dec: ARRL 160 Meter Contest

ARRL 10 Meter Contest

Jan: ARRL RTTY Roundup

ARRL VHF Sweepstakes

CQ WW CW 160 Meter Contest

Feb: CQ WPX RTTY Contest

ARRL CW DX Contest

CQ SSB 160 Meter Contest

Mar: ARRL SSB DX Contest

Russian DX Contest


May: New England QSO Party

CQ WW CW WPX Contest

Jun: ARRL June VHF QSO Party

Jul: CQ WW VHF Contest

4. Awards: A suitable plaque will be awarded in each of the four categories in which there are qualified entries. The plaque will indicate champions in memorium of all past CTRI Contest Group members whose keys now remain silent (SK).

5. Resolution: In the event of any dispute over the results of this program, a panel of three members selected by the President shall review the matter with its decision final.

6. The Tenderfoot Award: This is a special category that recognizes individual effort by a club member who has made substantial progress in improving his/her contesting effort usually with somewhat less than top-of-the-line equipment or vast prior experience. It may be a so-called “rookie” effort from someone new to contesting or from many years of dormancy from operating. It may – but not necessarily – be someone newly licensed. Making due with basic equipment and wire antennae are often the sign of a potential Tenderfoot winner. There is no minimum number of contests to be entered. The winner is selected on the subjective judgment of a panel of club officers, and is only awarded when one is found truly worthy. An individual can win this only once and cannot repeat in subsequent years.

7. Errors or Omissions: In codifying these rules, any obvious errors or omissions may be corrected.